Showing posts with label E-Commerce. Show all posts
Showing posts with label E-Commerce. Show all posts

Sunday, 23 June 2013

Informational System Strategy and Business Goals and Strategy

Informational System Strategy and Business Goals and Strategy

 Table of Contents:


Executive Summary:

Information system is becoming an essential integrated part of organizations as a source of competitive advantage in this innovative and changed world. Firms’ IS strategy is designed to support their Business strategies and operations in order to produce business solutions e.g. low cost, high quality or increase market share. Effective IS strategy should be flexible and updated with the change in environment and business strategies. To support decision making and business operations IS strategies are designed at organizational, business and functional levels. Multiple methodology frameworks where managers consider multiple influences framework to develop IS strategy will lead to design better and appropriate IS strategy. Beside these internal factors some external influences also drive IS strategy.


Introduction:

Today information technology has become an essential need for organizations to survive in a highly competitive environment. Firms use information system to support their business processes and Decision making processes that leads to a competitive advantage for them (O’Brien, 2006:59). Organization is a set of people that work together to achieve a common goal with limited resources. Firms develop its long run strategies to meet those goals after analyzing its internal strengths and weaknesses and external opportunities and threats. Today information technology has change the way of decision making processes and decisions itself as firms can get real time data and communicate all over the world easily. In conclusion we can say that information system affects the long run strategies of firms that lead to achieve their organizational goal in an efficient way. So firms’ information system strategy should be deployed according to its long run strategies that lead to organizational performance.


Firms usually formulate their information system strategy to acquire, deploy and support its information system that ultimately aim to fulfill their business needs through partnership/collaboration and exploiting new opportunities available in market to compete in a global perspective (Porter & Miller, 1985). Scope of information system strategy is positively correlated with the change in size and line of business e.g. large firms with large information needs a wider information system. This paper tries to define the firms’ information system strategies and the frameworks that illustrate that how to plan these information system strategies.

Information System Strategy (ISS):

Information system strategy is a set of plans and actions to design an information system that meet the requirement of your strategic goals and increase organizational performance (Laudon & Laudon, 2006:123). IS strategy is also defined as the plan that guide in providing information services (ISS Triangle, 2011). Strategic information system changes the products & services, operations, environmental relationships and goal of organizations into new ways to gain competitive advantage. Strategic information system can be used at all organizational strategic levels i.e. organizational level, Business Level and functional level strategies. In fact IS strategy should develop at each strategic level separately as each level needed different level of flow of information (Loudon & Loudon, 2006:123). Business strategies are formulated to cater competition (customers’ needs and competitors’ actions), positioning (way of competition) and capabilities (ISS Triangle, 2011). An appropriate information system strategy increases the required firm’s capabilities in term of reduce cost, high quality or capturing high market share that help the company to fulfill their customers’ needs and response to competitors.


RBV and ISS:
According to resource based theory firms got competitive advantage when they have resources with the following characteristics (Barney, 1993)
  1. Valuable (add value to the firm)
  2. Rare
  3. Imitable
  4. No substitute
Information system brings these qualities in firms’ operations and helps Company to differentiate its products and services with respect to its competitors (Wade & Hulland, 2004). For example FedEx a courier service provider is known from its quality service. They get this milestone by using information system strategy. Information technology is divided into three assets i.e. Human Assets (Skilled Personnel), Technological Assets (physical IT assets) and relationship (Collaboration with other stockholders) that can be a source of sustainable competitive advantage (Rose et al., 1996)

Generic Strategies and ISS:

Firms can also gain competitive advantage through cost competitiveness where firms produce at lower cost than its competitors and from differentiation strategy where firms pose some distinguish quality than its competitors. Information system strategy can play a very important role in this respect. Internet is the cheap source of communication and managers can reduce their cost through internet as many companies take online orders to reduce their ordering costs. Priceline.com use internet in its operations and bring seller bidding online that reduce their auction cost. On the other hand ISS also can be used for differentiation as FedEx did in its operations and their customers can rightly track their shipment online and Google.com provides unique services like google translator or google map that differentiate it from other search engines.

Multiple Methodology Frameworks and ISS:

In developing information system managers should consider multiple methodology frameworks instead of a single one and should integrate that IS strategy with those frameworks.

Business Goals and IS strategy:

In developing IS strategy business strategy play an important role and drive to IS strategy. In developing IS strategy first of all managers should not give al authority to IS personnel as it could be insufficient to fulfill business needs (IS Triangle, 2011). Relationship of business strategy and IS strategy can be explained through Information System Triangle.

Successful businesses maintain balanced strategies between these three strategies and business objective, strategies and tactics make decision about components and application of information system. On the other hand information strategies should be change if any change occurs in business strategy. Constant innovation is the only source of leadership, if firms use information strategy to gain strategic advantage.

Current Systems:

In order to develop informational strategy firms should evaluate its current system. Firms can do so by using surveys from its and through internal audit reports. Here firms should critically define the deficiency areas that current system lacks to fulfill. In this framework we use bottom-top relationship where we identify the need first and then take appropriate actions. Business Process Reengineering is a process to redesign the business processes radically that leads to improvement in operations in the form of cost, quality, speed and service. In doing so firms called cross-functional specialists from different departments and the users of IS to find the exact need of IS. Because in many cases IS of firms become failed as IS personnel didn’t find the exact need for their operations.

IT opportunities:

New technologies came and change the way of life continuously. Information technology provides opportunities for the managers that change the way of information system. It is also found that first mover got the advantage as the time period of these new technologies are small. Many changing trends are evidenced in Information System field during last 50 years. In 1950s IS was just restricted to Data Processing systems in record keeping that converted to management reporting systems to support decision making in 1970s. 1980s era expanded the role of IS to strategic and end user support systems in designing executive information systems, knowledge based proficient recommendations to customers and strategic Information to gain competitive advantage (O’Brien & Marakas, 2004:11). So new changing trends and opportunities to become first mover from IS effect the IS strategies of a firm. Before exploiting IT opportunities managers should know their requires need that whether they want increase in productivity, profits or consumer surplus because research reveals that IT increases productivity and consumer surplus but it doesn’t mean that it will lead to very high profits (Hitt & Brynjolfsson, 1995).

Other Organizations:

Collaboration with other firms like with suppliers to make strong its value chain can change the information strategies in this respect. These collaborations can also allow the firm to leverage IS resources i.e. people, hardware, software, databases and network when firms can’t afford new requires IS. Firms are also collaborating to form a portal where a customer can find all thing he needed at one place. This led to small firms to operate in large market. For example in 2005 American West line and US Airways merged for a new collaborative firm that could better control over cost and performance (Laudon & Laudon, 2006:81).

External Drivers to Information system strategy:

External Environmental variables strongly influence the firms’ IS strategies than internal factors. In designing IS strategies these factors can play an important role. These external drivers are also integrated to each other that makes a complex relationship between these factors and firm’s IS strategy. Following are nine external drivers that can influence IS strategy.
  1. Globalization
  2. Industrialization to knowledge based economies
  3. Competition
  4. De-regulation
  5. Up to date technologies
  6. Transformation of the business enterprise
  7. Changed customers’ attitude
  8. Ethical and Environmental issues
  9. Intellectual Assets

Competitors:

According to Porter’s five forces model firms have to construct strategies to cater five forces of (1) rivalry of competition (2) threats of new entrants (3) threats of substitute (4) bargaining power of customers and (5) suppliers’ bargaining power. As this is a world globalization and firms are expanding their operation that increases the extent of competition. Firms have to respond to these forces in order to survive themselves. In order to differentiate himself companies has to differentiate him self from its competitors. Firms make distinguish themselves from their competitors by using information technology (Bakos & Treacy, 1986). They can do so in following five ways

Cost Leadership:

By using information technology firms should become a low producer or they should find the ways to reduce the costs from their suppliers in order to decrease cost and to become cost leader to gain competitor advantage. Following cost leadership strategies information technology can play important part as in the case of DELL or E.BAY who decreases their costs by installing online order form system and online auction system respectively (O’Brien. 2004:49).

Differentiation:

Differentiating product or services through focus strategy can lead to a competitive advantage. Use IT features to differentiate product and services or focus to specific products or services at market niches or at least try to reduce the differentiation effect from competitors. For example AVNET Marshall increases their market share through developing customer/supplier E-Commerce system that differentiate AVNET from its competitors or at least minimize the differentiation effect from its competitors (O’Brien. 2004:49).

Innovation:

This kind of strategy leads to enter into unique markets or entering into unique market segments along with some unique product to gain competitive advantage over competitors. For this purpose make changes in business processes to improve quality and efficiency. Information technology plays an important role for innovation and helps to bring uniqueness in business operations (Alter, 2002:49). For example Amazaon.com has developed a fully online customer service system that makes whole the world in their range and make Amazon.com market leader.

Growth Strategy:

In this strategy firms expands their capacity of production and enters in global market with related or unrelated diversification. For example Citicorp has developed global intranet and Wal-Mart designs merchandise ordering system through global satellite system.

Developing Alliances:

Firms establish collaborations with its customers, suppliers, consultants and other companies to make efficient operations. Create virtual organization by using IT as Procter & Gamble and Wall-Mart has designed automatic inventory replenishment system that order to their suppliers automatically and reduce the ordering cost for the company (O’Brien, 2004:49).

Emergence of Global Economy:

In order to succeed in global economy real time transmission information is very important that will lead to respond to this changed world quickly. More capabilities and availabilities of internal digital communication facilities will increase the participation of economy towards globalization and its benefits. As more firms enter in globalization through alliances there is more chance that firms can get accurate and timely information. Information technology becomes more attractive in capital intensive countries like U.S where cost of labor is high and new technology might not be that mush important for labor intensive countries like China, India and Pakistan where one can find cheap labor as compared to capital incentive countries. Globalization IS allow centralized decision making as managers can assess information and made decisions more quickly. Globalization also encourages making strategic alliances to form global partnership. This global partnership also allow to small firms to contribute their small portion of products as supplement.

Transformation of Industrial Economies:

Today Western economies are using knowledge based sources to produce goods and services for their wealth creation. This transformation to knowledge based economy augmented the importance of IS as these knowledge based products and services are delivered digitally. This transformation also changes the source of competitive advantage and intangible assets of knowledge and intellect abilities act as the basic supplement to competitive advantage. On the other hand communication is found the most important operation in this respect and efficient marketing strategies are needed to find new customers. Small and medium firms can also access world wide markets as communication over internet is very cheap. Increased competition has increased innovation that leads to fade and product life cycles are becoming shorter.

Emerging Technology:

New technologies are emerging that leads to high quality with low cost that allow firms to offer low prices to increase their market share. A common agreement found among researchers that IT provides numerous opportunities for firms to grow and to compete effectively (martin et el., 1991). With today’s digital technology firms can better understand their operations and the individuals’ behavior towards those processes. Research reveals that firms do not use their information system up to that potential and a common agreement found that in many cases managers can utilize their information system more efficiently. New technology makes it harder to decide whether to act as first mover which is riskier as in many cases technology fails or to become a follower. So there is a trade off between risk from new technology or loss of competitive advantage in case of late deployment. Firms can also better control their supply chain management through new technology as Wall-Mart did and build an automatic merchandise system that inform its suppliers immediately when a customer purchase that product. Though firms are using wireless mobile media to make their operation efficient but this could lead to security issues that firms should consider.

Changed customers’ nature:

Communication media has increased the education level of their customers and customers are better known to the choices they have. This changed attitude compels the firms for competitive quality and prices. Customers respond and evaluate products and services according to its cost, quality, responsiveness (Time to response), reliability (average time of failure and compliances to order dates) and conformance to standards and regulations (rate of complaints about non-conformance) (Alter, 2002:273). On the other hand satisfied and dissatisfied customers communicate their view over internet that can be beneficial and harmful as well for a company. So firms have to perform well at all otherwise they will throw out of business. Supplier-customer relation are media based irrespective of personal but still customers respond positively and it is found that 72 percent ideas came from customer side.

Environment & conservation Issues:

Ethical and Environmental issues regarding firms operations are critical and firms should protect themselves by communicating these values (O’Brien & Marakas, 2004:493). For example managers have to decide that should they monitor personal records or mail of their employees or not. Privacy, Cyber Crime, Working conditions and health are the potential ethical issues that firm faces in real world.

Conclusion:

In conclusion managers should develop an information system strategy that fulfills their both strategic decisional and operational needs that ultimately leads to competitive advantage. A multiple methodology framework should use in this respect and not only the business goal but their current information system, IT opportunities and collaboration with other organization should also consider in developing IS strategy. Irrespective of these internal forces some external drivers also influence and lead to IS strategy. Firms can use cost leadership strategy, differentiating strategy, innovation, growth strategy or can develop alliances to compete and position themselves as a market leader. Internet provides a chance to go global to attract new customers from all over the world. In western knowledge based economies firms should use their intellect assets for competitive advantage by using appropriate marketing strategies. Adopting new technology as first mover is riskier as emerging technology fails many times but late adoption will loose the competitive advantage. Today firms have to perform better to make happy their customers otherwise they will leave as more options are available for them due to IT. At last managers should consider ethical and environmental issues arises from IS strategy and their potential consequences.  




References:

Alter S. (2002), “Information System: The Foundation of E-Business”, 4th Ed, Pearson
ISS Triangle (2011), “The Information System Triangle”, retrieve from
Barney, J. (1991), “Firm Resources and Sustained Competitive Advantage”, Journal of Management, Vol17 (1): 99-120
Hitt, L., Brynjolfsson, E. (1996), “Productivity without Profit? Three Measures of Information Technology's Value, MIS Quarterly
Laudon K. & Laudon J. (2008), “Management Information Systems”, 11th (Ed), Prentice Hall
Martin, E.W., DeHayes, D.W., Hoffer, J.A., Perkins, W.C. (1991), "Managing Information Technology: What Managers Need to Know", New York: Macmillan Publishing Co
O’Brien J. O & Markas G. M (2004), “Management Information System”, 8th (Ed)
Ross, J. W., Beath, C. M., and Goodhue, D. L. (1996), “Develop Long-term Competitiveness Through IT Assets, Sloan Management Review Vol38 (1): 31-42
Wade M. & Hulland H. (2004), “Review: The resource-based view and information systems research: review, extension, and suggestions for future research”, MIS Quarterly Vol28 (1): 107-142
Drucker, P.F. (1995), "Managing in a Time of Great Change". New York: Truman Talley Books/Dutton

Emery, J.C. (1987), "Management Information Systems: The Critical Strategic Resource", New York: Oxford University Press

Keen, P.G.W. (1981), “Information Systems and Organizational Change”, CACM, Vol24 (1)

Meador, C.L. (1995), “IT Strategy Alignment: Identifying the Role of Information Technology in Competitive Strategy”, Retrieve from
Porter, M.E., Millar, V.E. (1985), "How information gives you competitive advantage", Harvard Business Review, Vol.62, No.4
Rackoff, N.,Wiseman, Ch., Ullrich, W.A. (1985), “Information Systems for Competitive Advantage: Implementation of a Planning Process”, MIS Quarterly
Scott Morton, M.S. (1991), "The Corporation of the 1990s. Information Technology and Organizational Transformation", Oxford University Press, New York - Oxford
Tom, P.L., (1987), "Managing Information as a Corporate Resource", Scott, Foresman & Company, Glenview, Ill. - London, England
Wiseman, Ch. (1985), "Strategy and Computers: Information Systems as Competitive Weapon", Dow Jones Irwin, Homewood


Wednesday, 19 June 2013

Web Analytics to E-Commerce Strategies

Impacts of Web Analytics to E-Commerce Strategies
Table of Contents





1. Introduction:

Today World Wide Web has changed the ways of doing business and firms are expanding their operations onto web to access markets from whole the world (Barua et al, 2004). It is argued that firms can gain competitive advantages through effective online operations (Porter 2001). For instance Dell added US $5 million to its revenue through its effective online ordering system (Attaran, 2004). A number of authors have confirmed the significance payoffs of business strategies predominately based on web technologies (Devaraj & Kohli 2000; Devaraj et al. 2007; Laudon & Laudon 2006:98 etc). This is because an increasing number of internet users are evidenced especially for the last decade. Currently more than 52 million people are using internet in UK that is 61.8% of UK population as compared to 15.8 million in 2000. Moreover, according to National statics, (2010) more than 50 percent of individuals from UK has registered themselves for online purchase transactions while this statistic is expected to increase to 75% in near future. However, firms who do not have enough knowledge that how well their web sites are performing unable to optimize their online operations. So, it is important to learn the ways to which firms can optimize their online operations to gain competitive advantages in this respect. One of the modern techniques that can be used to optimize firms’ online operations is web analytics (Kaushik, 2007). The purpose of current is also to explore the relationship between the web analytics and E-commerce strategies predominately based on web technologies.

2. What is Web Analytics?

The concept of web analytics is highly industrial in nature and growing rapidly especially for the last decade (Malacinski et al., 2001, Newcomb, 2004). Web analytics can be defined as science and art of tracking the visitors’ actions on a web site through analyzing web traffic in order to improve the visitors’ experience to use that web site (Kent et al., 2011). The term web analytics is described in term of science because it contains the statistical data and methodology while the term art is used because that statistical data is analyzed through various tools and techniques to optimize online operations. Similarly, web analytics association (2011) has also defined the term web analytics with the words of “Web analytics is the objective tracking, collection, measurement, reporting, and analysis of quantitative Internet data to optimize websites and web marketing initiatives”. So, the basic purpose of web analytics is to know about the success of web site developed and to improve the visitors’ experience to use it. In short web analytics endeavor to track and analyze the web strategies in order to respond accordingly. For instance managers can correlate number of visits with some particular group of sightseer to confine their market segmentation. On the other hand measuring the success of web site is a difficult thing to do. Success of a web site can be measured into various ways depends on the objectives to which it is developed such as competitive advantages, effective operations, customers’ loyalty etc. For instance for a web site developed to flow of information, number of visitors is important. Nonetheless, it is more appropriate for a commercial web site to measure its success through number of purchase.

3. Web Analytics and E-Commerce:

Inan (2002) argued that in current scenario web sites are viewed as business channel rather than only a tool for advertisement. This implies that virtual online operations are also critical as physical operations and it is important to construct effective web strategies as well. However, one can do so through measuring web site performances such as number of clicks or visitors or number of online purchases. This will also provide the opportunity to optimize web site to get required results. Such measurements can be made through web analytics. A number of software packages are available that provide the opportunity to view the web site traffic. One can perform various measurement tasks through these software packages that allow developing strategies accordingly. Cutler and Sterne (2000) suggest some basic measurement tasks that can be use to optimize online operations. For instance the number of visitors or web site traffic allows predicting future growth. Moreover, such measurement of visitors’ click also allows handling web traffic for smooth online operations.

Another implication of web analytics is to segment the targeted market. Managers can differentiate various groups of visitors on the basis of their behavior towards exploring that web site. This will also allow constructing the market segmentation to target potential customers. Smith (1956) argued that a heterogeneous market is a set of various homogeneous sub groups having some common characteristics. Market segmentation is a process to define those homogeneous sub groups. Haley, (1968) argued that it is useful to divide the whole market into small segments that contain similar characteristics and needs and wants as it will allow to construct strategies for each group accordingly. In case of web sites, it is important for managers to provide right customer with right information that can be done through correlating number of clicks with some particular groups of visitors. Cutler and Sterne (2000) also argued that web analytics also provides the opportunity to assess the effectiveness web strategies through evaluating visitors’ response. These strategies can be related to some online initiative or redesigning processes for improvement. For instance web analytics allows evaluating the effectiveness of redesigning web site through visitors’ response and mangers can devise further web based plans accordingly. Similarly, it is important to evaluate the effectiveness of new developed shopping processes. For instance new developed shopping process will be effective if it reduces the transaction time and ensure security as compared to previous process. Similarly, managers can assess the usefulness of online campaigns. Without measuring such effectiveness it is not possible to construct strategies accordingly. Moreover, one can also compare such online campaigns with off line promotions for further decision making. Cutler and Sterne (2000) also suggest that web analytics can be used to monitor external referrers. In many cases some web partners are associated with that web site. Moreover, most of the visitors use search engines to track their required results. However, web analytics identifies the affiliated partners and search engines that cause high profits. At last Cutler and Sterne (2000) argued that web analytics also identifies the unvisited or poorly performing sections of the web site that should redesign.

All the above discussion of web analytics is confined to the basic metrics like number of visitors of purchases. However, today such basic measurement tasks are viewed inadequately while evaluating the success of that web site as it can produce misleading results. For instance the high number of frames within a web site or spidering of that web site can produce high numbers of hits of visits (Buresh, 2003). Similarly, Kilpatrick, (2002) and Whitecross, (2002) also document some of examples that illustrate that how such basic web analytics metrics can represent misleading results. This implies that basic web analytics metrics are inadequate to evaluate success of web site and to construct strategies accordingly (Phippen et al., 2004). One of the reasons behind this inadequacy is increasing number of online customers. It has become a lot more difficult to find loyal customers over web. Today customers can easily approach to national or even international markets in search of goods and services that increase the customer empowerment. This is why organizations are following customer oriented web strategies. Inan, (2002) provides the same results as 56% of firms interviewed consider customers’ intimacy as one of top three priorities. This implies that customers’ are the key to success of online operations. So, it is important to explore that how customers interact and engage with web site and develop customer oriented web strategies rather than the strategies based on organization. Subsequent part of the study will explore some of implications of advance web analytics.

3. Advanced Web Analytics:

Aberdeen Group (2000) defines advanced web analytics as “Monitoring and reporting of web site usage so that enterprises can better understand the complex interactions between web site visitor actions and web site offers, as well as leverage insight to optimize the site for increased customer loyalty and sales”. Moreover, Whitecross, (2002) argued that scope of optimizing web site is not confined to attracting new customers but also the management of current customers as well that how customers can be converted to loyal customers. So, the main concern of advanced web analytics is to increase customers’ loyalty and profits through improving visitors’ experience to use web site. Advanced web analytics is not just about to collect web site data but integrating such statistical data with other information to construct strategies accordingly. Advanced web analytics concentrates to methodology as compared to basic web analytics matrices that focus to simple measurements such as number of clicks or purchases. Two implications of advanced web analytics are analysis of customers’ life cycle and consumers’ behavior through formula based on the information of web site usage.

3.1 Customer Life Cycle Analysis:

This section endeavors to integrate the success of web strategy with customer life cycle theory. Customer life cycle explores the relationship between visitor and the web site. The analysis provides the opportunity to assess the customers’ information at the each step of customer life cycle (Imhoff et al., 2000). The analysis explores the numbers of customers at each stage of life cycle and the cost that firm bear when holds these customers to next stage or dropout. Reiner, (2000) provided a frame work that analyze customer life cycle. His framework can be explained through a hypothetical example. Suppose a firm spends $25,000 to newly market campaign and 1000000 impressions are served with the click-through rate of 0.5%. In this way number of click through will be 5000 (1000000*0.005). Then the cost per acquisition can be measured through following formulae.

Cost per acquisition = Advertising and promotional cost / Number of click-through

In this way the cost per acquisition of above example will be $5 per visitor. This statistic can be used to compare with the benefits of new market campaign. For instance suppose this increased click-through rate increase sales revenue by $35,000 then benefits per visitor can be measure through the ratio of additional sales revenue divided by number of click-through. The benefits per visitor will be $7 (35000/5000). This indicates the positive impacts in term of profits of newly developed marketing campaign over web.

Similarly, Reiner, (2000) also provide useful metrics to investigate the rate of customers lost. The phenomenon can also be explained through a hypothetical example. Suppose there are 2000 subscribers while current month added 200 additional subscribers. However, 50 customers also unsubscribed from the web site. This makes total number of current subscribers as 2150. One can measure the churn rate from following formula.  

Churn = Customers lost / Total customer base

In above example the churn rate will be 2.3% (50 / 2150). This indicates that the 2.3% of total customers were dropout for current month. High rate of dropout indicates the need to optimize web operations. However, to do so it is imperative to explore the customers’ behavior to find actual problem that cause to such dropouts.

3.2 Customer Behavior Analysis:

Though it is useful to explore the number of dropout of visitors of a web site but the most important thing is to know the factors that cause such high number of abandon. Inan, (2002) argued that there are three different factors that affect customers’ behavior to abandon the use of a web site. These factors are content inappropriateness, ineffective design and performance deficiency. For instance Cutler and Sterne, (2000) have described content appropriateness in term of stickiness and relevance. Stickiness shows the effectiveness of the content used in gaining visitors’ attentions while relevancy demonstrates the extent to which web site provide relevant information to the user. In order to measure the stickiness Cutler and Sterne, (2000) define the metrics of stickiness factor.

Stickiness factor = Time taken spent viewing all pages / Total number of unique visitors

Similarly, they also define relevancy factor to evaluate the effectiveness and relevancy of the contents used in web site. Relevancy factor is measured as below

Relevant factor = No. of content pieces consumed by visitor / No. of available (or expected) content pieces

Despite above two metrics to measure customers’ behavior towards dropout, a huge collection of metrics are available. However, the selection of appropriate method depends on the situation that what you want to measure. Subsequent section will provide a view of case analysis in the context of web analytics.

4. Case Study:

Phippen et al., (2004) provided a case analysis to analyze the effectiveness of web strategies for one of the largest airlines from UK in the context of web analytics. The purpose of this web strategy was to get better the customers’ experience in order to compete with other airlines that reduce their costs through high online bookings. To do so, various reports based on the web site traffic were developed to evaluate the effectiveness of web strategy. These reports are described as below

4.1 Monthly Summary:

Monthly summery provides the basic level information such as number of visitors, page view, mean time of visits or mean number of pages viewed per visit etc as demonstrated by figure 1. In other words monthly summery provide the information about the web site activity for whole the month. Such summery information can be used for decision making. For instance it is found from analysis report that at weekend considerable few visitors use their web site. This was followed by the largest number of visitors to the site in a week, coming on Mondays. Moreover, these statics were true for the period of June 2001 to March 2002. So, it is not a good idea to launch new marketing promotions at Monday due to busy traffic that may lead to crashing the site to impact negatively in customers’ mind. On the other hand monthly summery reports also contain the information about top visited pages. Moreover, top external referral that becomes the cause of visit of that web site is also given. This will allow indentifying the most profitable business partner as well. On the other hand top entry page illustrates the most favorable page that visitors access first while top exit page refers to the web page to which most of visitors exit. If this high exit rate is due to any problem then web master should solve it.



Source: Phippen et al., (2004)

4.2 Monthly Dashboard:

Monthly dashboard provides the view of compiled monthly reports for last 12 months as demonstrated by figure 2. Such analyses allow to compares the web traffic on monthly basis to know the slowest and busiest time of web site. From such analysis one can also predict the demand for some specific month.

Source: Phippen et al., (2004)

4.3 Weakly Dashboard:

Similar to monthly summary report, weekly dashboard also provides the view of summary statistic but for shorter period i.e. weekly basis as demonstrated by figure 3. In practice weekly dashboard is used more frequently as compared to monthly dashboard as it allows analyzing web traffic more frequently. In order to keep web operations more smooth, it is critical to monitor and analyze weekly dashboard frequently. Moreover, above discussed metrics can also be evaluated through using such data to construct strategies accordingly.
Source:Phippen et al., (2004)

                                                                         Figure 4: Weekly Dashboard Information
Source: Whitecross, (2002)

Moreover, Whitecross, (2002) has also defined some of measures that can be utilize to evaluate some important areas i.e. financial performances, people and relationship, business to business relations and performance of web pages. Figure 4 demonstrates the view of these areas and measures that can be deployed to evaluate their performances to construct strategies accordingly.

4.4 Post Implementation Analysis:

Post implementation reports are most useful implication of web analytics. Such reports allow assessing the success or failure of some campaign over web. A number of metrics can be utilized to do so. For instance number of visits to the page of campaign that further can be compared with other web pages to evaluate its attractiveness. Similarly, click stream analysis can be conducted to evaluate the effectiveness of banner advertisement. Moreover, to evaluate the success of campaign, actual return on investment generated through online bookings can be compared with expected returns. The airline company has also adopted a useful metrics to evaluate the success of new marketing campaign over web. The metrics consists of the ratio of number of online bookings in response of campaign to the number of clicks to that campaign page. This statistics demonstrate the percentage of visitors who like the proposed campaign and book for online bookings.



5. Conclusion:

In conclusion web analytics is one of the modern tools used by managers to optimize their web operations. Web analytics is defined as the science and art that uses statistics related to web traffic for decision making to improve customers’ experience to use that website. Conventional measures of web analytics such as simple number of visitors or purchases can be used to predict future growth, to segment the customers’ group or to assess the effectiveness of some campaign over web. However, simple measures of web analytics can mislead the results due to high number of frames within a web site or spidering of that web site. So, it is important to deploy advance web analytics measures that mainly focus to customer oriented strategies. For instance cost of acquisition and rate losing customers can be used to assess customer life cycle. Similarly, ratio oh stickiness factor and relevant factor can be used to evaluate the content appropriateness while studying customers’ behavior towards abandoning the use of web site. At last case study shows that using monthly summary, monthly dashboard, weekly dashboard and post implementation reports provide useful information about web traffic that managers can use to optimize their web operations.



References:

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